Review: Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente

Synopsis: Deathless is a retelling of the Russian tale Koschei the Deathless. I can’t say more about it because I have no idea what happened half of the time.

My thoughts: The language is weird. Valente’s fans might say „Julia, you just didn’t GET it.“ and to them I say „So be it, doesn’t change anything about the fact that the language is weird. Go away, reread The Girl Who Flew Around Fairyland With Her DIY-Ship.“
„Her datives we’re like tables set for feasting“ is – objectively – weird, right? RIGHT?

The whole book is written in a very lyrical and flowery way and I was willing to overlook that in the beginning because there were bureaucracy-loving gnomes and a girl that had a gun instead of a second eye.
Up until half of the book I even knew most of the time what was going on but then it lost me. I have no idea what happend in the second half (I dimly remember a love triangle, I think) and the annoying language didn’t help. When I realized that it was going to lose me I immediately looked up the original Russian tale hoping that it would at least help with the plot.
Spoiler alert: it didn’t.

In conlusion I think that the writing ruined it for me. If you don’t mind it or if you even like it this could be an enjoyable read for you but it’s just not my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

