[Weeviews] Threesome #2

Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett
 photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png
I first read this in 2010 and gave it one star. This can be credited to Past!Me having horrible taste – in books and in general (ex-Good Charlotte fan in da house!).
That being said: Present!Me is still not as blown away as everyone else seems to be. The idea of the books is great (Women can be wizards, too!) but the execution not so much. I can’t tell you why that is, only that this is what I feel. Overall the story is very enjoyable which is mostly due to Granny Weatherwax being a badass… from Bad Ass.
I listened to the audiobook and the narrator (Celia Imrie) did a very good job.

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
 photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png photo trenchcoahalb_zps675ffc83.png
Icelands sounds beautiful. Yes, even when people are talking about murder all the time it comes through that Iceland is beautiful.
The writing is wonderful and I would’ve enjoyed the book a lot more if there had been some wiggle-room for hope but it being “a book about the last woman executed in Iceland” there wasn’t. The ending was set in stone and I don’t like it when I know from the beginning how it ends. Granted, that’s on me and it’s not the book’s fault but I’m not giving better ratings for that. This is all purely subjective.
I liked most of the scenes in the present, especially those that involved Margret because she’s one amazing lady. The flashbacks, however, did nothing for me. There was nothing to be discovered in them that would’ve changed the outcome so I thought them to be superfluous.

Brain On Fire by Susannah Cahalan
 photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png photo trenchcoat_zps9702cc4e.png photo trenchcoahalb_zps675ffc83.png
I’m a hypochondriac to the point where it has direct impact on the quality of my life, so this book was fucking scary! Also fascinating and mildly annoying.
This whole mysterious illness business would’ve made me feel sorry for most people but Susannah… No. To be clear: I’m not saying she deserved what she got, no one does, I just didn’t feel sorry for her. I didn’t develop any sympathy whatsoever because she is an insufferable person. She’s Piper from OINTB which means she’s an entitled, superficial, white, rich brat. After she finally successfully battled the disease she was only complaining about how “fat” she’s gotten. Check your priorities, gurrl!

One thought on “[Weeviews] Threesome #2

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #1 | I Found A Hobby

Leave a Reply

