[TBR] August 2014

tbr Kopie

1. Return Of The King by J. R. R. Tolkien: This is my favorite book (series?) of all time so it was time for a reread.
2. Bird Box by Josh Malerman: It’s my birthday in August so I was allowed to choose a buddy read for the Twitter Babes.
3. Last Exit To Brooklyn by Hubert Selby Jr.: Katy knows that I can’t say “no” to buddy reads but this at least sounds… interesting?

4. Death On The Nile by Agatha Christie: Lisa is a Christie virgin so Kati and I are going to pop her Christie cherry. That sounds so wrong but I’ll roll with it.
5. Geek Love by Katherine Dunn: Again, Katy’s fault and again, a book that has made it on this fun list.
6. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood: A bunch of us have never read Atwood so we’re doing this together. Atwood seems to be one awesome lady.

7. The End Of Mr. Y by Scarlett Thomas: It’s been on Lisa’s shelf for a while now, it’s been on my shelf for a while now. This just screamed BUDDY READ! Yeah, we already tried and both hated it…
8. Quiet by Susan Cain: We, the Twitter Babes (I feel like I should explain the name but I don’t have any readers that are NOT in the Twitter Babes so it seems redundant), are all introverts and want to read more nonfiction, so this was an easy pick.
9. A Tale For The Time Being by Ruth Ozeki: It’s the August pick of the Writers Of Color Book Club and I suggested it so I have to read it.

10. The Blazing World by Siri Hustvedt: This and the following three books are all longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2014 and we are reading a few of those in August.
11. To Rise Again At A Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris
12. History Of The Rain by Niall Williams

13. The Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee

Thank goodness that it’s Bout of Books 11 in August because these add up to 4710 pages!

4 thoughts on “[TBR] August 2014

  1. Wow. So many awesome books this month. I think I am most looking forward to Bird Box and ROTK. Still laughing about the Agatha Christie comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Summer is the season of berries. I started Quiet yesterday and the introductory chapter was bloody brilliant. The next one’s about history, which is also interesting. I have very good feeling about this book.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #2 | I Found A Hobby

Leave a Reply

