Bout of Books 13 – So it begins…

I actually wanted to write daily updates but then I remembered I’m a very lazy individual so I’m updating this one post so it becomes a DUN DUN DUNNNNN Master Post.

6

9:00 p.m.

serpents
4

Solid three-star book with a bonus Lady Trent star. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book in which the heroine says something along the lines of “Fuck this! Periods are shit and it attracts mosquitoes!”

werewolf
Started on page 0
Currently on page 230
141 pages to go

Help me! I’m enjoying this. Not all of it because there’s a love triangle and there’s the usual “I hate you!” “I hate you!” “Let’s have sex.” but overall.

f3
Started on page 10
Currently on page 48
439 pages to go

I’ve been reading this for two months now and it’s not because it’s awful but because paper books are so inconvenient.

Daily goal: 367/288
Total: 1773/1883 pages

The numbers are off now that I started a book I haven’t planned to start.

5

10:30 p.m.

serpents
Started on page 56
Currently on page 232
99 pages to go

There are no words to describe how much I love and admire Lady Trent

Daily goal: 176/288
Total: 1406/1883 pages

Haven’t reached my daily goal, AGAIN. Ugh… but I was productive. I washed my hair with a mixture of black tea and rye flour and it worked really well. It also seems like I’m allergic to every shampoo ever because this time my face was not burning red afterwards. Aren’t bodies fun?

4

10:30 p.m.

math
3,5

 

It was fine. Incredibly repetetive but the writing was nice.
Reminded me a lot of what John Oliver said on last week’s Last Week Tonight: “Mothers are like feet: the more you talk about them, the more people will think you want to fuck them.”

serpents
Started on page 46
Currently on page 56
275 pages to go

I’m really hoping that this is going to stop my streak of 3-star books. So far, so good but at lot can go awry in 275 pages.

clariel
dropped

I can’t even begin to tell you how sad this makes me. I love the Old Kingdom trilogy and I’ve been looking forward to this book for ages but I had to drop it after 99 pages because I was afraid it would ruin the rest of the series for me. So, so boring and I just did not care.
I actually liked Clariel because she was a “no one needs people, I’m better on my own” person like me but everything that happened (or the lack thereof…) was just bleh.

Daily goal: 221/327
Total: 1229/2315 pages

Since I dropped a 432 page book, the numbers will look more promising tomorrow. I hope.

3

10:30 p.m.

math
Started on page 81
Currently on page 259
111 pages to go

No, please, tell me again how smart your mother was…
This confirms what I’ve been thinking since I went to school with math geeks: mathmatician’s are smart but not able to live on their own.

serpents
Started on page 10
Currently on page 46
285 pages to go

I missed Lady Trent. She’s the most amazing woman and doesn’t take shit from any man.

Daily goal: 214/304
Total: 1008/2315 pages

My parents and I ate the cake I made yesterday and it was so good!

2

10:30 a.m.

partials
Started on page 70
Currently on page 131
337 pages to go

Ugh, now she’s single and there’s a boy she hates on her team. Therefore – if I’ve learned anything from reading YA – that’s going to be the next love interest.

Daily goal: 61/331 pages
Total: 375/2315 pages

10 p.m.

partials
3

 

It could’ve been much worse, to be honest. It had a plot – an interesting plot! – and the romance was almost non-existent. Although I’m pretty sure this was a setup for a love triangle in the second book. Will not read that.

math
Started on page 0
Currently on page 81
289 pages to go

Literary fiction and I aren’t usually getting along at all but this one is quite enjoyable. What’s happening to me? First YA, now LitFic, help!

Daily goal: 479/331 pages (eyoooo!)
Total: 794/2315 pages

Made a cake

and a washcloth today.

1

EXCITEMENT ALL AROUND!
My TBR has changed drastically and instead of being down to 250 pages a day I’m now up to 330 pages a day. Oh well…

7 a.m.

drowning
Started on page 245
Currently on page 245
245 pages to go

Everyone in this book has the most annoying children ever.
I know, I’m not the best judge of that because I think all children are annoying but it feels like these are even worse than usual.

Daily goal: 0/330 pages
Total: 0/2315 pages

10:37 a.m.

drowning
Started on page 245
Currently on page 328
161 pages to go

Pretty sure I’ve known for about 100 pages what’s going on. If I’m right this is the last crime novel for a long time because this always happens.

Daily goal: 83/330 pages
Total: 83/2315 pages

7 p.m.

drowning
3

I was correct and that’s why I don’t usually read “mystery” novels.
Interestingly enough the men became a lot more annoying than the children. Erica rocked, though. Super pregnant with twins but she solved the case basically on her own. You go, girl!

Daily goal: 244/330 pages
Total: 244/2315 pages

330 pages are WAY too many in a day. I “hope” one of the books I picked is so bad that I have to drop it.

10 p.m.

partials
Started on page 0
Currently on page 70
398 pages to go

I can’t believe it. This is the second YA book in a row that I don’t hate. How can you do this to me, Partials? I was counting on you to be able to drop you to reduce the daily page goal!

Daily goal: 314/330 pages (so close!)
Total: 314/2315 pages

11 thoughts on “Bout of Books 13 – So it begins…

    • Thank you and THANK YOU! I have this thing that when my cakes LOOK good, they taste horrible and vice versa. This one looked like a cake and tasted amazing. First time that ever happened πŸ˜€

  1. The Mathematician’s Shiva sounds like an awesome read. I thought Bout of Books would help cull down my TBR, but it seems like for every page I’m reading I’m seeing a new book I need to add to my list πŸ˜‰

    • It was much better than I thought, so go add it πŸ˜‰
      I’m so glad that I don’t have this problem because every blog I visit seems to be a YA blog and I just don’t want to read YA. There are enough things that make me add to my already HUGE TBR pile as it is. πŸ˜‰

  2. I’ve been wanting to read Partials. But now that you say that the sequel may have a love triangle, I’m not so sure – I’m pretty tired of love triangles. YA novels need to stop with that.

    Good luck for the read-a-thon. Good readings! πŸ™‚

    • You can pretend it’s just the one book and ignore that there are more because that’s what I’m going to do. Or I could be wrong, that’s always an option πŸ˜‰
      Love triangles are one of the main reasons why I stopped reading YA. From time to time I try but there seems to be a love triangle in every single YA book!

      Happy reading to you, too! You seem to be making great progress πŸ™‚

      • Perhaps it’s what I’ll do. Thanks. πŸ™‚ I wish every single YA book stopped with love triangles. They are so much more annoying than entertaining.

        Thank you and thank you. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, happy reading to you, too! πŸ™‚
      This is fun, last Bout of Books people didn’t drop by just to wish me good luck.
      Unfortunately I was not able to read while eating the cake because of the pesky human interaction (= my parents) but generally I agree: reading while eating snacks is the best.

  3. Crafting, baking, AND reading? A girl after my own heart! Can I have a piece of cake? πŸ˜‰ You’re doing awesome with your reading! Good luck for the rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

