The Best And The Worst of 2015

good

shotgun arcana

1. I’ve been looking forward to this ever since I read
The Six-Gun Tarot I had been putting it off because I was afraid my expectations were too high and it couldn’t possibly meet them but it completely blew me away.
It was amazing how Mr Belcher used all these “real” urban legends, that made the book even more interesting.
I may or may not still have a crush on the sheriff.


man called ove

2. I started this on a whim. It was nominated in the Goodreads Choice Awards and was the only book that sounded kind of interesting.
Turns out I identified (probably too much) with the main character and cried a lot because of it. Actually, A Man Called Ove may be the best book I’ve read all year. It punched my heart in the stomach, really.


seveneves

3. Women in space.
Women being scientists.
Women kicking ass.
Women being humans.
Women being worshipped.
Women being more important than men in society.
WOMEN!


long way

4. To quote my own Goodreads review: “A gazillion stars!”
I don’t even know where to begin.
This is the most creative and diverse book I’ve ever read. It was different and imaginative and well written and interesting and I really want to read it for the first time again because the experience was so much fun.


disaster artist5. You think you know how ridiculous Tommy Wiseau is after watching The Room? You are wrong, he’s even worse.
The movie is beautiful, this book is beautiful and you should all watch and read them, respectively. I think, this might even be fun without having seen the movie first (although I urge you to do just that, it’s a masterpiece).
YOU’RE TEARING ME APART, LISA!


bernadette6. Another one of the “I probably identify too much with the kooky protagonist” faction.
I can’t tell you how much I wanted to scream “I FEEL U, GURRL” at this book at times. I loved every bit of this book and I can’t properly put that into words. Just read it, it’s good.

 

bad

hanover square affair1. Well, I should’ve known. This is not my kind of book but I live in Hanover and so I thought it would be fun. It was not.
It was a buddy read with a friend and at least she disliked it was well.
And now I have to write some more text because the WordPress formatting is being an asshole and the following line is completely crooked.


throne of glass2. We (… okay I) had the amazing idea to create a book group in which we read overly hyped but probably shitty books and whine and complain about them together. This was our first read and let me tell you: it did not disappoint. It was freaking awful! The annoying “assassin” was clumsy, impulsive, stupid and such an arrogant, highly aggressive little shit.


dinosaur lords3. This may have been the biggest disappointment of the year.
Knights on dinosaurs? Count me in! But boy, was this awful.
The author was very focused on writing about poop which was weird. I dropped it after 15% because nothing happened and like I said: lots of poop.


clariel4. I was wrong, THIS was the biggest disappointment of the year. I loved the Abhorsen trilogy and I was really looking forward to this prequel but I had to stop at 23% so it wouldn’t ruin the fond memories I have of the series.

 

wtf

nicholasI read this for shits and giggles and I was fully expecting to loathe it and give it one star in the end. I mean, come on, were-satyrs with double penis power?
Apparently I’m much weirder than I originally thought because I actually enjoyed parts of this. I absolutely hated some parts, was bored by others and liked way too many. Not enough to read the six sequels, though.


Sure, this is a book post but I’ve been OBSESSED with this for a month so let me give you the best album of the decade century.

hamilton

One thought on “The Best And The Worst of 2015

  1. There really needs to be a sequel to Angry Planet because that was so great! I think I read that the author is writing a companion novel to this which would be awesome.
    We have 4 of the same books on our faves list. 😀 I have actually never heard of The Room before right now. I need to see if I can find that.
    My thoughts on Nicholas were identical to yours. Definitely the WTF book of 2015.
    EVERYONE GIVE IT UP FOR AMERICA’S FAVORITE FIGHTING FRENCHMAN!

Leave a Reply

