Bout Of Books 15 – Participation Post

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 4th and runs through Sunday, January 10th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 15 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

 photo tbr_zpsff9cbpof.png
To be honest, my TBR for January consists of 30 books and a few of them are pretty long. Of course, I know there’s no way that I’ll manage to read all of them but I want to! Narrowing it down is so difficult but I’ll try to be reasonable.

mane eventNo wait, listen!
I’m in a Goodreads group where we read awful books on purpose to complain about them together because we’re horrible people. I’ve read my fair share of shitty books but this one takes the cake. 0/10 do not recommend

I still have 223 pages left in this and stabbing myself in the face with knitting needles is starting to sound like a better alternative.


ravensbrückAs a German, I had aproximately 98% of all my history lessons deal with World War 2. That’s eight (?) years only talking about Hitler and Co. and I’ve never ONCE heard about Ravensbrück. Disappointing but not surprising because herstory is always being eradicated. I made a pact… with myself… to never ever read anything that has ANYTHING to do with WW2 because I just CAN’T! I’m making an exception for this, though.

I have 753 pages left in it.


serafinaThis won… something in last year’s Goodreads Choice Awards, probably Best Middle Grade (I don’t care enough to look it up. The GRCA are trash.)
I thought I needed something a bit lighter because The Mane Event is making me mad with its shittiness and Ravensbrück is making me sad (and mad).

I have 272 pages left in this one.


hamiltonLet me tell you what happened a month ago: I reached my breaking point of “People are talking about some hip hop musical about a Founding Father. I care about none of these things BUT I DON’T WANT TO BE OUT OF THE LOOP ANYMORE” so I listened to the cast album on Spotify. After the second song I was obsessed. I’ve been listening to it over and over again every day since then, I wake up with a different song stuck in my head every morning and Christmas was THE WORST because I was at my parents’ and I couldn’t listen to it for three days (after that I finally bought it so I don’t need wifi anymore).
And that’s how I went from being completely disinterested in American history to reading a freaking 800 page book about some dude who wasn’t even a president. For the #HamALong I have to read the first five chapters until Thursday. I have no idea how many pages those are but I also think I don’t really want to know because I’m already planning to read 1248 pages this week without anything Hamilton.
P.S.: Daveed Diggs is pretty.

One thought on “Bout Of Books 15 – Participation Post

Leave a Reply

