Bout of Books 18 – Masterpost

7
Welp, this went horribly.
I read nothing at all all weekend, so overall I read 751 pages instead of the 3398 planned pages. Better than nothing, I guess.

5
wishfuldrinkingI finished another book and I was very disappointed. This was a lot of “My mother was so beautiful”, “My father was a douchebag”, “Did I mention my mother being beautiful?”. I realize this is just her one woman show transcribed and it didn’t work as a book. And Carrie Fisher is not as great of a writer as everyone has been trying to tell me.
I will miss her for her work regarding mental health and feminism but not for her writing and Star Wars…

All in all I’ve read 616 pages so far.


4

Let’s not talk about it.


3

10:53 Uhr
not-your-sidekick Only goal for the day is to finish this. There are 105 pages left so that seems doable. Right? RIGHT?! There’s a storm outside and I don’t have anywhere to be but on the other hand… Spontaneanation.
I’m also planning on doing a little cheering round today because some very nice people have been cheering me on, so I want to pay it forward.

21:45 Uhr
Finished NOT YOUR SIDEKICK, was very unimpressed. I had such high hopes…
But the picture I sent to a friend arrived and I can finally show it off. Took me seven hours and fifty minutes and it’s like 6cm x 7cm…
screenshot-2017-01-04-21-39-22
I read 107 pages today which makes 443 pages in total. My game needs to be upped.

22:30 Uhr
I couldn’t sleep so I started MURDER MOST UNLADYLIKE.
First page:
c1w07znwqai-vkw
Aaaand dropped it immediately. Great stuff for a white person to tell short and Asian girls they can’t be heroines. So it stayed at 107 pages for the day.


2
12:52 Uhr (German time, mostly because I don’t know if noon is supposed to be 12 AM or PM)
All right, let’s do this!
I have my food, containing – and I quote – “finger-shaped potato dumplings” (or Schupfnudeln for the Germans), spinach, bacon, spring onions, feta and cream cheese. May not look like something you’d want to eat but it’s delicious.
fooood

abominable
And I have my book. I switched because the superhero YA was just too… YA.
I loooved Hyperion by Dan Simmons so much that this can only be a disappointment, although a yeti being the bad guy seems cool. So far (page 44) I’ve zoned out about half a dozen times because mountain climbing is hella boring.
GIVE ME THE YETI!

19:46 Uhr
WELL, I’ve been reading THE ABOMINABLE for 154 pages and so far they’ve been talking about mountain climbing and practicing mountain climbing. Then there are Germans that say “Ja” and “Nein” in an English conversation which no German ever does but authors seem to think differently and also those Germans are nazis because of course.
They’re not even anywhere near Everest yet and therefore no yeti! I don’t think I can do this for another 500 pages. Dan Simmons, GIVE ME THAT YETI!

20:14 Uhr
I CAN’T! I can’t with all the technical talk about climbing. I don’t give a flying fuck about oxygen tanks and which kind of shoes lets you keep your toes.

20:48 Uhr
A THIRD THROUGH THE BOOK AND WE’RE STILL NOT ON THAT GODDAMN MOUNTAIN!

22:30 Uhr
I dropped it, just couldn’t do it anymore. Wasted 265 pages on this and had 400 more to go! I may or may not have peeked at Goodreads reviews and one guy said that they’ll only arrive on Everest around page 400… so… yeah…
All in all I read 274 pages which is pretty good, technically, but like I said: wasted. That’s almost a full book that could’ve counted towards my Goodreads goal. BLERGH!


1

not-your-sidekickThis whole “480 pages a day” thing is not going to work. I mean, I wasn’t counting on it but I didn’t think it would be that much of a disaster. 42 pages, FORTY-TWO, instead of 485!
My hot, passionate love for Spontaneanation is just too strong at the moment. And it’s much easier to do cross stitch while listening to a podcast because unfortunately I only have two hands and two eyes.
unbenannt-1
New goal: just beat whatever I read the day before… How sad.

8 thoughts on “Bout of Books 18 – Masterpost

  1. Lol!
    Forgive my laughing but I completely understand how you feel. We set high goals without contemplating our other passions. However, 42 pages is still a good number! I wish you luck on Day 2!

    • Laugh all you want, I deserve it xD Picking a million books was my fault and by now I should know better. I’ve been doing readathons for about ten years and EVERY! DAMN! TIME! I do this.
      Thank you and good luck to you, too!

  2. Any progress is good progress and it’s not like you’re NOT reading! Sometimes changing books is the best thing because you end up reading more. Hope your book picks up and you meet the yeti soon! πŸ˜€

  3. Happy reading to you!! Good luck with your reading goals this round of BOB. I am having a blast so far and have just finished my first book around 2pm… It’s wet and rainy where I live, which has made it easy to stay indoors and focus on reading. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much!
      Happy reading to you, too, and also congratulations on the first finished book. That’s my goal for today, it’s already Wednesday! GOTTA READ MORE! xD

Leave a Reply

